Framework Agreement Of The International Solar Alliance

To date, a total of 87 countries have signed the ISA Framework Agreement and 67 of them have tabled their ratification instruments. “? This amendment came into force on 15 July 2020 after obtaining the necessary ratifications/approvals/approvals from the required number of ISA member countries, in accordance with the ISA framework agreement,” the ministry said in a statement. The International Solar Alliance (ISA) is an alliance initiated by India in 121 countries, most of which are sunny countries that are either all or partly between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn. The alliance`s main objective is to promote efficient consumption of solar energy in order to reduce dependence on fossil fuels. The initiative was first proposed by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi in a November 2015 speech at Wembley Stadium (London HA9 0WS, UK), in which he called sunny countries suryaputra (“Sons of the Sun”). [1] The Alliance is a treaty-based intergovernmental organization. Countries that are not covered by the tropics can join the Alliance and enjoy all benefits than other members, except voting rights. [2] After the United Nations, it is the largest group of states in the world. [3] [4] Jaime Hermida Castillo, Nicaragua`s permanent representative to the United Nations, signed the agreement on Wednesday to India`s permanent representation to the United Nations. The Central American country is the 87th country to sign the agreement. The integration of UN member countries into the alliance will put solar energy on the global agenda, the ambassador said, adding that growing membership would lead to the initiative that will benefit the world.

Another 107 countries then joined the agreement, including all major countries between cancer and Capricorn, including Mexico, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Brazil, India, Argentina, Australia, New Zealand and China. On November 30, 2015, a conclave for the solar group, the International Agency for Solar Policy (Application), began. [17] The Alliance is also known as the International Agency for Solar Policy and Application (IASPA). [9] The emphasis is on the use of solar energy. The creation of such an alliance in Paris also sends a strong signal to global communities about the sincerity of developing countries in the face of their concern for climate change and on a low-carbon growth trajectory. India has set a target of installing 100 GW by 2022 and reducing emissions intensity by 33-35% by 2030, so that solar energy enters the most connected villages and communities and creates a clean planet. [10] India`s commitment to the Paris summit proposed to purchase 40% of its electricity generation capacity (not actual production) from non-fossil sources (renewables, large hydroelectric and nuclear power plants) by 2030. [11] It is based on global cooperation. Apart from that, there are 56 other members, for a total of 122 members within the Alliance.

Recently, Eritrea, Luxembourg, Saint Kitts joins International Solar Alliance, Membership rises to 84 It is also considered an alliance of developing countries to form a single front and undertake research and development for the production of solar installations in developing countries. [22] To date, 74 countries have signed and 52 have ratified the ISA Framework Agreement. With ratification by 15 countries, ISA will become an intergovernmental international organization and will be legally recognized by the United Nations to become fully operational. The following countries are the potential members of this alliance who have signed the framework. Countries marked with a plus have also ratified the framework. [18] Afghanistan, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Congo, Denmark, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Ireland, Jamaica, Liberia, Luxembourg, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Paraguay, Philippines, Romania, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago are the youngest members of this alliance.

Fotos: Kathrin Leisch
Impressum | AGB